Great follow-up after "Roots". A Beautiful, heart wrenching,enraging and enthralling novel of a biracial young woman branded, defined, subjugated by slavery and prejudice in southern America, Despite the fact that I found myself in tears during various sections of this book,I just couldn't put it down. - Jane Howard, "Friends are God's apologies for relations." Parson Dick, another slave there, warns Queen about the difficulties awaiting mulattoes, quadroons, and octoroons in the new free society. Slavery's reach is still with us, and part of the gift of doing African-American genealogy is recovering the stories of those caught in its grasp who could not in their own time leave their own witness.". de Haley, Alex, Stevens, David | Livre | tat trs bon. Ill end with Alec Haleys headstone in Savannah, Tennessee: I am an engineer by day, but my true passion lies in genealogy. Queen quickly leaves, feeling again sad and rejected by the white side of her family. So thanks to the book, it gave me a thrist for knowledge on where we came from and why we are the way we are. While her literal shackles were gone, this was a time when old habits and sentiments were slow to change, even for a Queen. I remember sobbing and feeling like I really knew James Jackson. This book will have you going through every emotion. Wow this is amazing, I can tell queen was mixed she looks like a white woman with a tan, she probably was lighter in the fall and winter time, her hair is so curly thats another give away, she was a nice looking lady I wonder if theres anymore pictures of her especially when she was younger, I bet she was so pretty and I bet her hair was real long she cut it obviously, halle berry did a great job and shes favors queen alex knew what he was doing when he pick halle to play his grandmother, and danny glover did a good job to, alex grandfather looks like a light skinned danny glover, just so amazing, I wonder if some of the things in the book and movie was real, like was