PAT: She just knew, "This is my daughter.". JAD: Because you begin with a mother's lick that ends up with a deep, deep change in the baby, not just the good, warm, fuzzy feeling, but a fundamental shift in who that baby is, and who that baby will be. JAD: Is that a genetic hatred of whistling that I just had? But along with the support came attacks, particularly as drug-addicted women began to sign up. So some scientists began to ask Kammerer if they could look at his toads. I went to the hospital and picked him up. MICHAEL MEANEY: I was an undergraduate student. Even if it helps, it's horrifying. So she told me Barbara had another baby and BARBARA HARRIS: Did we want it? At the Vivarium, as the name suggests, they have live animals. I'm Executive Director and Founder of National Advocates for Pregnant Women. These are women who love their children, who sought help. When they got another call from a social worker saying that same mother, Destiny's birth mother, had given birth to another child. She filled out the forms went BARBARA HARRIS: Through all the training that we had to do and first aid, fingerprinted and had a background check done. Thanks to Frances Champagne and Michael Meany and Sam Kean, who writes about Paul Kammerer in his book, . Radiolab Society & Culture Science Latest Transcripts What Up Holmes? OLOV BYGREN: It was very interesting discovery. You know, when smart people say, you know, "There's no such thing as nature and nurture it's only interaction of the two," You're like, "What the hell does that mean?" He'd fall asleep and just wake up screaming. So, the thought is, when those little boys in verkalix were really, really hungry, their hunger started a chemical process that reached all the way down to the DNA inside the boy's sperm. PAT: But at that point just two of the six boys were living at home, Brian and Rodney. I mean, for one thing, Barbara's white and Destiny's black. It's only the mechanisms are not so clear. That tongue is doing som