Matthew E. Bershadker was named president and CEO of American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) in May 2013 and serves on the Global Animal Partnerships Board of Directors. We thank Ed Sayres for all he has contributed to this organization and the welfare of animals. [2] He holds an MBA from Johns Hopkins Carey Business School [3] and a Bachelor of Arts degree in communications from Ohio University. BUT WHEN A NON-PROFIT IS SO UNMINDFUL OF THE BOTTOM LINE TO FORGET ABOUT THEIR PURPOSE NO THANKS. After I earned my MBA in 2001, I applied for a job at the ASPCA. Upon launching ANIMALS 24-7, in 2014, Beth & I initially hoped to continue this project in an online format. If they truly care about their work, they shouldnt need to live rich while doing it. HOW MANY ANIMALS CAN BE SAVED WITH THE EXCESSIVE SALARY PAID TO THE CEO? Text STOP to opt-out, HELP for more info. It is because people including yourselves and ourselves, legions of eight-dollar-a-month donors and $9.70 an hour workers and volunteers, together built a movement. 1894 shipwreck found in Lake Huron, confirming "powerful, tragic story", Bipartisan Senate group unveils rail safety bill in response to Ohio derailment, What to know about Shigella bacteria as drug-resistant strain spreads, Top Dems push Fox News to stop promoting "propaganda" about 2020 election, National animal welfare nonprofit ASPCA faces spending criticism, Lawsuits claim dental device wrecked teeth, Pandemic-era SNAP benefits end for millions of Americans as costs rise, Eye Opener: Millions face deadly winter storm. and advocating for animals through the political process. There are plenty of good, small time organizations, the kind that are still in the movement phase and that cant afford any slick PR campaigns or TV commercials ones like SHARK, UPC, Center for Biological Diversity, local wildlife rehabilitators and this publication for example. Boggles my mind how long they have gotten away with this. What they pay